This is such an important concept to what I am working on, I cannot let it get lost in the ether. I have not tested this in Lightwave’s lScript, but I suspect it is the problem I have been having with automatically adding bones. Ergo, here it is, lifted straight from Gary Creighton’s website http://www.angelfire.com/wizard/gandalf27/layout1.html:

“I continue, reparenting all other skelegon chains to ‘Deinon_Root’ with ‘Parent in Place turned on. I finish each bone’s reparenting by pressing ‘r’ to rethink that bone’s ‘Rest Positon’ before I move on to the next bone.

“You should always check to make sure your object looks correct. Since you won’t generally be reparenting more than about 5 or 6 bones, you might turn on visibility on the object after each bone to ensure that nothing is twisted, then save the scene with a new name because Layout has no undo (or one level of undo for limited operations).

“Then… turn visibility off on the object once more to reparent the next bone.

IMPORTANT – ‘Parent in Place’ ONLY WORKS IF YOU HAVE NEVER ROTATED THAT BONE BEFORE.

“Therefore, you must reparent bones BEFORE you record their rest positions. If you follow exactly what I said to do, and bones twist your object? Most likely you had already rotated those bones away from their original positions with ‘Record Pivot Rotation’, and thus ‘Parent in Place’ isn’t working.

“So, only ‘Record Pivot Rotation’ AFTER you’ve reparented bones (This is like building the house of cards, one-by-one. Beware that the house of cards is very senstive to the order in which you place those cards).”

– 30 –

